(MSTP MD/PhD application) Improved chance with Master's? + Additional Questions

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

#PowerhouseoftheCell

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello friends,

I am currently a junior hoping to gain admittance to an MSTP program. My current GPA is ~3.65 and I am currently majoring in Cellular and Molecular Biology (B.S.) as well as Modern Language with an emphasis in Spanish (B.S.) with minors in Chemistry (emphasis in Biochem) as well as Sociology. I recently transferred back home from a flagship state university to a smaller, midsize state university. I transferred because of personal issues related to the health problems and treatment for a sibling. These personal issues led to my GPA suffering a great deal dropping from ~3.8 to where it is at now. As a result of transferring, I will have to take an additional year to graduate. However, I am taking the GRE in February in order to apply to an accelerated Master's program at my institution in Cell and Molecular bio, which if admitted would allow me to graduate with both my undergraduate degrees and my Master's in a total of 6 years. Now that I've set up the general narrative of my situation, I have a few questions.

1. Will my transferring from a larger, more well-known institution to a smaller but still competitive research university hurt my chances of being noticed by MSTP admissions?
2. Will my Master's program benefit me very much in admissions if I do well in my graduate courses? (Will it help much having a Master's instead of not having one)
3. Will my M.S. be looked at differently if it's an accelerated program as opposed to a traditional one?
4. In my program I'm given the option to do a thesis or a non-thesis program. Which would be most desirable to pursue if MSTP is my goal?