MSI Book recommendations... I Did research, any suggestions?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

license43

7+ Year Member
Reaction score

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
Reactions: 1 user
Hi peeps, MSers and fellow doctors, I'm an entering MS1 DO student.
What books did you guys think were the best in preparation for the MSI Core/basic science courses. Specifically: Gross anat, pharm, physio, biochem, embryo, neuroanatomy, OMT (If applicable for you), neuro.
So far after my research (Yes I did do research) this is what I believe are the best, please give any suggestions:
Gross anat: natters atlas +/- natters flashcards #1, moores clinical anatomy can be #1/#2, Greys (TMI), Michigan Website w/ their PQ, Grays review for PQ, BRS for extra PQ; Rohan's
Physio: Constanzo text or BRS
Pharm: Lippincott
Biochem: Lippincott
Embryo: High yield #1, BRS #2
Neuroanat: clinical cases for neuroanatomy #1
Histo: Blue histology #1, shotgut histo #2, Ross histo
Patho: Pathoma ####1... + Goljan

Also, how is Dr. Najeeb?? Anyone heard of FTP lectures, you know that funny DO guy ? AK lectures? i used AK lectures for undergrad, not sure if its beneficial for MS.

I highlighted what I recall using and added in red what I'd also recommend in the classes you have listed. You really won't need a lot of different resources. You're going to have a lot of information provided to you by your school, and unless the quality of the provided material is poor, then you most likely will not need many external resources.

Costanzo is great though. If you want to get that down and Pathoma down in your first year. :thumbup: