Military Pharmacy and Combat

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Sir Rx 23

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi guys! I posted this question on one of the pharmacy boards and didn't get much of an answer. While I am not aspiring to become an MD or DO (I am new to SDN so I hope it is ok), i figured some of you might be able to give some insight. (Also, please forgive me if these questions have been asked before. If they have, please send me the link(s). I also have been told this would be a question for a recruiter, but I am a little tied up to talk to one for the time being.)

So, in short, my question is can a military pharmacist (of any branch) participate in any type of combat? For example, I have heard that some Sailors aboard ships can join VBSS. I have also heard of some MD's/DO's working in the field with Soldiers and/or going through airbourne or dive training.

Would anything like this be open to a pharmacist?

Personal experience is appreciated.

Thanks in advance!

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
Hi guys! I posted this question on one of the pharmacy boards and didn't get much of an answer. While I am not aspiring to become an MD or DO (I am new to SDN so I hope it is ok), i figured some of you might be able to give some insight. (Also, please forgive me if these questions have been asked before. If they have, please send me the link(s). I also have been told this would be a question for a recruiter, but I am a little tied up to talk to one for the time being.)

So, in short, my question is can a military pharmacist (of any branch) participate in any type of combat? For example, I have heard that some Sailors aboard ships can join VBSS. I have also heard of some MD's/DO's working in the field with Soldiers and/or going through airbourne or dive training.

Would anything like this be open to a pharmacist?

Personal experience is appreciated.

Thanks in advance!