Mental Health and Dental School

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

briggsinator2

2+ Year Member
7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Good afternoon!

I am a senior currently applying for dental school, and graduated with a GPA of 3.90 and a DAT AA/TS of 24/26, so I'm not necessarily worried about getting into dental schools, but I am concerned about another question: mental health and dental school. I've struggled with pretty severe bouts of burnout and depression during undergrad, largely (I think) brought on by how hard I studied during college. As I'm finishing school, studying is much harder for me than it used to be, and I find myself needing to spend more personal time than I did in previous years. Hearing from close friends who are now in dental school, I am wondering whether it is a wise decision for me to enter the rigors of D-school and still expect to take good care of myself mentally. From the perspective of D-students or dentists, what do you think? I also graduated with a degree in environmental engineering, so I am considering moving straight into industry to have a better work/life balance with the standard 9-5. Could I make it through D-school? What would you do?

Thanks for any input.

Members don't see this ad.

Depends if you want straight A's or straight C's. Plenty of free time in DS if all you want is C's.

I've struggled with pretty severe bouts of burnout and depression during undergrad, largely (I think) brought on by how hard I studied during college.