MEDICAL SCHOOL IN AUSTRALIA for NON-TRADITIONAL

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

undergrad13

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a United States citizen and was looking to study medicine in Australia but I have a degree in the social sciences rather than the the actual applied sciences need for med school.
What are my options? are there programs in Australia that allow individuals to pick up from basics that allow for transition into medical school?
like a post-bacc or something?

Members don't see this ad.

Those are some very broad/general questions.
MMm5K_s-200x150.gif

As a starting point go to worldwidemed.co
On the home page it asks what country you're from and what country you're looking at for school.
It's non-profit, completely unaffiliated with any schools, and was put together by an Australian resident for *pre-med students. So it's pretty reliable for what you're currently asking. It will summarize all the medical schools for you - including what pre-requisites you need. If you get stuck or something's not specific enough, feel free to ask.

I would recommend doing some exploring of the similar threads in this forum too.
A lot of people have had similar questions before.

I am a United States citizen and was looking to study medicine in Australia but I have a degree in the social sciences rather than the the actual applied sciences need for med school.
What are my options? are there programs in Australia that allow individuals to pick up from basics that allow for transition into medical school?
like a post-bacc or something?
As far as I'm aware, not all medical schools in Australia absolutely require a science or pre-medical background (like in the States) in order to apply. Some medical schools do, but not all.

I believe your two main options are either bridging courses or a medical science degree.

Members don't see this ad :)