Med Peds community programs

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

eimaise

eimaise
10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi all, I'm a 3rd year DO student on the east coast planning on applying to med-peds this fall. I am excited about going this route and I don't really have an interest in pursuing a fellowship afterwards. My career goals include hospitalist work, primary care, and missions work at different points in the future.

I don't see many people discuss or review community programs on this sub forum and was curious if they are generally considered "weaker" than the university programs out there.

I know a few of the community based/university affiliated programs are considered strong (I see good things about Baystate, Christiana, and Banner Good Samaritan) by people on this forum, but what about other programs like the ones in Tulsa, Wichita or Peoria? I also have an old list I am working from that says the programs in Louisville and Greenville, SC are community as well... is this still true?

Is there a perceived disadvantage about these types of programs that anyone would like to share? What advantages can you see to attending a community program? I'd especially love to hear from any med-peds residents in a community program.

From what I can tell, it seems university programs may offer a broader range of pathologies for residents to see and learn about. I did 50% of my third year clerkships at a large university based hospital. 20% was at a VA hospital and the other 30% were at community hospitals or nursing homes/outpatient settings. I liked all the settings, but saw a lot more unusual at the university based hospital. Will I miss out on a lot of these things at a community program?

Members don't see this ad.