MD to CRNA knowledge gap

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

JPSmyth

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I want to ask in the attending and resident anesthesiologists about the difference in knowledge that an MD/DO anesthesiologist has versus a CRNA/DNP/anything else.

I'm only a med student, but from the shadowing I have done in anesthesia I really enjoyed it. I always hear that the field is doomed due to CRNA takeover and they are getting equivalent practice rights in some states etc.

Aren't there some circumstances when there is a clear mastery of the field exhibited by an MD that a CRNA just won't have? When I shadowed, the CRNA could not place an epidural and kept poking for a while. The MD stepped in and did it in 5 seconds. I understand that the field is money driven, and CRNAs are cheaper, but is it really sustainable for the field to flood it with CRNAs to "replace" anesthesiologists?

Also, I have seen physicians say online that CRNAs think they are just as good of a clinician as an attending anesthesiolgoists. Once again, isn't there a lot of things that you know but they don't? How can the practice rights be equal in some states when an attending has so much more training and knowledge?

Also, does doing a fellowship set you further apart as an attending?

Members don't see this ad.

Trust me, it's not even close. I've been at a place where CRNAs practice independently for two weeks and I'm shocked someone doesn't die everyday

Examples, sure, to name a few:

- facia iliaca block as sole anesthetic on anterior hip
- 15mg marcaine for EVERYONE via CSE (c sections) regardless of height
- inadequate ASRA guidelines for neuraxial procedures

Members don't see this ad :)
Model_of_Mastery.png

Reactions: 1 user
Trust me, it's not even close. I've been at a place where CRNAs practice independently for two weeks and I'm shocked someone doesn't die everyday

Examples, sure, to name a few: