MD here... tips to get the most out of referrals

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

cbrons

15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello, Im a resident looking to get your advice/tips on referrals. Do you like it when we write "evalute and treat"? What info do you need or what common things do we do that shouldnt be done, etc.

Members don't see this ad.

Reactions: 1 users
Amazing how this never happens. Treatment actually is not for certain so IMO it should not be written in that way. Evaluate and treat if indicated makes more sense. Frequency, duration and specific treatments being "ordered" is not appropriate. Medical precautions are a good idea to include if there is any. Demand high quality thorough assessments and write ups. Demand quality POC's that are based on the physical therapy assessment. Demand high quality treatment that is established in the POC. Don't fall prey to a patient's own opinions re the quality of care they are getting as they do not have a clue. Don't be one of the majority of physicians who think they supervise and know physical therapy. The majority of physician and physical therapist collaboration/teamwork is garbage trust me, so don't copy what produces that.

Reactions: 3 users
Hi Doc,
Outpatient PT here
Eval and treat is perfect. Include any pre-cautions or contraindications if post surgical.
Include imaging findings if significant.
I don't like it when docs specified a modality

Reactions: 5 users
Members don't see this ad :)