MCAT taken previously; considering taking PCAT

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

davisfenos

Prince Caspian
7+ Year Member
Reaction score
So I've already taken the MCAT, but it's looking (kind of) unlikely that I'll be accepted to an MD school this cycle. I did pretty well (38 old MCAT), and I've retained a lot of the knowledge from the test itself. I wasn't sure if it was worth attending a PCAT course for this reason... should I just buy a set of PCAT books over the summer? Is there one brand that is generally recommended over another? Sorry if these are dumb questions, I'm totally new to the PCAT and just preparing for the worst!

Sent from my iPad using SDN mobile

Members don't see this ad.

You could go with the basic Kaplan book, but with you retaining most of the material from your MCAT I'd suggest maybe just doing practice tests? There's also dr. Collins which is the bible of the PCAT that people use, but you can only buy it from people who have bought it from someone else

Sent from my iPhone using SDN mobile

So are you going to apply to pharm school now since med schools wont take you? You should first research about pharmacy job market and then make decision about applying to pharmacy schools. If i were you, i would find ways to improve med school app. Because MD>>>>>>> PharmD.

You could go with the basic Kaplan book, but with you retaining most of the material from your MCAT I'd suggest maybe just doing practice tests? There's also dr. Collins which is the bible of the PCAT that people use, but you can only buy it from people who have bought it from someone else

Sent from my iPhone using SDN mobile

This is very helpful. I'll try to keep an eye out for these. :) Thank you escanoke