MBA after medical school

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

alaa300

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello ..
I'm a fresh MD graduate ..and i'm interested in non-clinical careers ..like health administration ,hospital management ..etc ..
Also i want to be an entrepreneur / business owner at some level of my life .
and i'm considering doing MBA ..before going to residency .. (if i got accepted in b-school)

My questions are :

1-What are the opportunities and careers options for MD/ MBA ? (it's separate -not dual program) .
with rough ideas about salaries , work hours..etc
2-for a specialized physician , i know it's almost guaranteed to have a job ,but the debate becomes about salary,lifestyle ,etc.. Is that the situation for MD/MBA ? i mean what level of guarantee to have a long term job.
3- IF i did MBA and then i decided to go back to residency ,will it help to get me in higher residency programs ..comparing to normal MD ? or it will be a negative point because i'm not committed to clinical career ?

Members don't see this ad.

3- IF i did MBA and then i decided to go back to residency ,will it help to get me in higher residency programs ..comparing to normal MD ? or it will be a negative point because i'm not committed to clinical career ?

Chances of getting into residency decrease as time away from medical school increases

Reactions: 2 users
Chances of getting into residency decrease as time away from medical school increases
this is scary .. :(
even if i did 1 year full time MBA ? i mean is 1 year away from medical school a big deal ?
it also depends on the question 1 and 2 ..if it's more likely to have a reasonably good job after MBA.. i wouldn't go back to clinical field ... but i have no idea about the job market .

Members don't see this ad :)
Hi,

As ever, the answer always depends.