Matching ER/Anesthesia after TRI

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

rgDOc

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am an osteopathic student who wanted to go into EM this year but only applied ACGME and did not match. I have a position at a DO TRI and was wondering my chances of matching EM or Anesthesia after the TRI? My alternative option is to go to a new anesthesia program far away from home in a more undesirable location. I believe my heart is in EM but I can see myself enjoying anesthesia as well. Should I do the TRI and reapply for anesthesia and EM or should I take the sure thing in this anesthesia position in an undesirable location?

Members don't see this ad.

I am an osteopathic student who wanted to go into EM this year but only applied ACGME and did not match. I have a position at a DO TRI and was wondering my chances of matching EM or Anesthesia after the TRI? My alternative option is to go to a new anesthesia program far away from home in a more undesirable location. I believe my heart is in EM but I can see myself enjoying anesthesia as well. Should I do the TRI and reapply for anesthesia and EM or should I take the sure thing in this anesthesia position in an undesirable location?

A few things

Firstly, have you been able to identify the weaknesses in your application that caused you to not match ACGME Emergency Medicine in the first place? For example
- Low/Absent USMLE?
- Lukewarm/Poor SLOEs
- Clerkship grades
- Not applying broadly enough tier-wise/geography-wise
- Late application

Secondly, if you do decide to take an osteopathic PGY-1 year, does that institution have an EM residency? Will you have opportunities to rotate at that institution's ED and make connections for the AOA match?