Masters of Athletic Training?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

canadianatheart

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am currently working on my undergrad in Exercise Science. I have the opportunity to transfer into a 2-year Masters of Athletic Training program. If I graduated from this program, I would not graduate with a Bachelor's degree but I would only have a Master's degree in Athletic Training.

I am very, very interested in pursuing the AT program and working as an ATC for a couple years before Med School. This would make me a non-trad student. Would this look good on my application? Or should I just stick with Exercise Science and go straight into Med School?

I can see myself doing either of these paths.

Thank you!

Members don't see this ad.

I am currently working on my undergrad in Exercise Science. I have the opportunity to transfer into a 2-year Masters of Athletic Training program. If I graduated from this program, I would not graduate with a Bachelor's degree but I would only have a Master's degree in Athletic Training.

I am very, very interested in pursuing the AT program and working as an ATC for a couple years before Med School. This would make me a non-trad student. Would this look good on my application? Or should I just stick with Exercise Science and go straight into Med School?

Thank you!

Doesn't help you get into med school or give you a leg up on the competition.

I would save your money and go straight med school unless someone is paying for your Masters.

Reactions: 1 user
Members don't see this ad :)
If you wanna be an athletic trainer, be one. If you wanna be a physician, apply to medical school. If you wanna collect a bunch of XP points from an obscure quest, to impress the adcoms and win the game, this isn't it. Unless you're getting the AT degree from oxford under a prestigious scholarship AND you join the rowing team.

Reactions: 1 users

Thank you!