Married, pregnant, and need to re-take my MCAT... suggestions on timing?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Joyfulone90

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello everyone,

I am pretty new to the thread but a friend of mine (Family Med intern) suggested I check it out. A little background history: I graduated with my BS in 2013, was married by August 2014, and now am expecting our first child in February 2016. I have taken my MCAT twice and have done poorly both times. Luckily, my husband now has a job that will allow me to stay home and study without having to work full time (yes, I took my MCAT in April and was working full time.. bad mistake). Anyways, I'm trying to figure out when I should re-test. Should I begin studying now and hope to study once the baby is here or should I just wait to take it Summer 2016? I don't know how unrealistic it is to begin studying now and try to continue studying with a newborn - this question is for all the parents out there.

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
Reactions: 1 user
From personal experience, I don't recommend that at all. The baby will be loud and you will be really tired all the time. I'm sure there are some who have done it but I am not one of them. Unless you have extra help from parents/in-laws, I don't think you will get much productive studying done once your child is born.

Hello everyone,