Made a stupid mistake in licensing application. Need advice, Please!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

rhymerhyme

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am in my last year of training and will seek TX medical license upon graduation. As per my colleagues, processing of TX license can be quite lengthy, and starting application early is strongly recommended. So I thought I was being smart by starting my application now. I paid the $800s application fee and received an email from TMB, only to find out the application will expire in a year from now.

But I have a situation here. I am an IMG whose medical school is not on their recognized school list. And I have never done a clerkship in a ACGME approved US hospital. So I am not eligible unless I pass the board. I have confidence in passing the board. But the problem is that board exam will not happen until end of August next year, which is after the expiration date. It is impossible to complete my application by then.

I called the TMB and a CSR said I should withdraw my application. But I am concerned this is leaving a "dark spot" on my record and follow me throughout my career life. Because I will have to explain why I withdrew from board applications every time I apply for licensure or credentials, and TMB has provide a proof of it, even though this has nothing to do with medical practice.

Before I applied I read through the website and there was no mentioning of a expiration date of the application. Even now I cannot located this info anywhere on their website.

I feel so stupid of ruining my own career now. If anyone has any advice on damage control, it will be greatly appreciated!

Members don't see this ad.