Low GPA, Non-Traditional, Help With Stats for Applying to DPT School

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ZoneDefense123

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone,

This is my first time using Student Doctor although I have read many of the forums. I find what everyone does here so helpful and calming as I know we're all very anxious, nervous, and stressed when it comes to applications for PT school. As my title suggests, I am looking to apply for the first time next June 2018 and I was wondering if others who are applying or who have already gotten in can assist me on where to improve my application and also my chances for this first time applying. I am aware my stats won't be stellar but my parents are forcing me to apply and not wait another year. I'll post the numbers but first just a short bit of background info.

I went to undergrad for law and figured out late by senior year i wanted PT. I spent two extra years to take some science pre-reqs and then graduated with a B.S in Poli Sci. (Horrible for job apps btw -_-). Due to some personal issues I did not do well and finished with a less than stellar Undergrad Cumulative GPA (will post in next section). Since I graduated, I worked 9 months as a PT aide, then got a Full time job (where I am currently in) have done inpatient and pediatric hours (peds at my job) and have been taking courses at the community college for A's. Without further ado, my stats. Thank you all for your help as it truly is greatly appreciated.

1. GPA
Undergrad Cumu: 2.7
Post Bacc Cumu: 3.9

2. Core Pre-Requisites
Chem 1 Lecture- F, B- (Re-take)
Chem Lab 1- B
Gen Chem 1 (Lecture and Lab Re-take @ CC)- A
(N.B: My 4 year school separated Lecture and lab grade while the CC combined it for one grade)

Chem 2 Lecture- B-
Chem 2 Lab- C
Gen Chem 2 (Lecture and Lab Re-take @ CC)- A
(N.B: As above)

General Bio 1- A
General Bio 2- A

Physics 1 Lecture- C
Physics 1 Lab- C