Looking to pursue an OCS Residency

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Rdc21422

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi,
I'm looking to pursue an orthopedic PT residency upon graduation. I'm currently a 3rd year PT student and graduate in December. First, would you recommend applying to schools before graduation or does that make you less competitive, or should I begin applying to schools before I graduate? Also, how generally competitive are residency programs? Lastly, what do programs really look for from applicants to set themselves apart and build the best resume? Thanks a bunch!

Members don't see this ad.

Hi Rdc21422,
Firstly, congrats on your upcoming graduation!

Second, I have some questions for you: Are you intent on going through an academic residency, or are you open to doing a residency through an employer-offered route? Did you also know there are hybrid programs offered by programs, allowing you to work and live where you want to?

Generally, the in-house programs that accept 1-2 residents are more competitive than the employer-offered or hybrid routes. However, I'm not sure competitive = better. At the end of the day, the intent of the residency is to prepare you to successfully pass the OCS exam and improve your clinical acumen and confidence in all areas orthopedic.

Lastly, those that do residencies and fellowships seem to self-select. That is, everyone is driven and dedicated. You have to personable, willing to be mentored, and open to criticism. Having good grades ought to be prerequisite; having immeasurables that others do not or cannot articulate is a good start.

PM me with any questions.

Hi Rdc21422,
Firstly, congrats on your upcoming graduation!