Looking to change my career to Pharmacy at 32

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Tzero7

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am in an unusual place in life career wise. I earned a PhD in Genetics but absolutely hate my career options. I don't want a career in active research anymore, to the point where I am pretty miserable. I have no interest in pursuing a tenure track academic position either. I started Post Doc position but hated and ended up leaving it.

So over the past months I have done my research on career, and felt that a career as a pharmacist fits both my skill set, interests and salary goals. I am interested in medicine, its underlying mechanisms and I am a bit of a people person. I almost pursued this path once before, prior to my PhD as well. At the time I did enjoy research more and not having to pay tuition was one factor that steered me to that degree. So its been an interest, just not something I ever acted open.

I have contacted a local PharmD program that has gone through my academics record and as long as I don't bomb the PCAT, I would have no issues getting accepted. From a financial stand point, I never took out loans for graduate school, so I believe I would be fine on being able to get student loans for a PharmD program and may even qualify for scholarships based on my advanced degree and undergrad/grad GPA. I do need to confirm this though, and will start making contacts in the coming weeks.

I do understand the 4 year commitment and living like a poor college student again as well as the added student loan debt at my age. I am in a place where that is ok, no one is dependent on my income.