LGBTQ Resources for Med Students

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Guero

2QT2Bcis Plaidapus
Moderator Emeritus
10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Introduction

I was born intersex, surgically designated male at 6 years old, and currently identify as both genderqueer and transfemale (she/her/hers pronouns). In other words, my clothes and appearance vacillate between androgynous, feminine, and masculine, while my personality traits and legal gender remain distinctly female.

I was a medical student when @otterxavier and I created this forum. I gradually came out during my second year of medical school, 13 years after nearly losing my life as a victim of a violent hate crime in the South. I endured many barriers along the way, including several challenging interactions with peers, staff, and faculty, and was even denied hormone replacement therapy (HRT) at my medical school's student health clinic. But my experiences only made me stronger and more passionate to ensure lasting, positive change is achieved as I pursue a career of leadership, health policy, and research as a physician. I remain dedicated to local and world-wide LGBTQI communities and helped establish our school's first LGBTQI student organization alongside a tenacious group of my queer and allied co-founding friends. I hope SDN's visibility, accessibility, and utility will facilitate the spread of information, support, and resources to those in need.

This thread

I compiled a list of resources relevant to dealing with LGBTQI issues as they relate to medical school, surviving medical school, applying to residency, et cetera. Please feel free to send me, @otterxavier, or @tantacles a PM to have something added. I'm eager to see this list grow. Good luck, stay strong, and focus on your goals!

Sincerest,
G

SDN threads (recent)
This thread reveals perspectives on identifying as LGBT in medical school.