Leaving Clinical Medicine - Options

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

EpiShock

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am currently a PGY1 in a 3 year emergency medicine program. Before and after graduating from a top 15 medical school I spent a lot of time with the decision to leave clinical medicine (this really started 4th year of medical school). Prior to medical school I was a coder and while applying to medical school simultaneously applied to business schools and was accepted to multiple top 10 programs. I ultimately chose medicine but I regret that decision.

I absolutely do not wish to continue the residency. My reasons are well formed and nothing you say will dissuade me. Has anyone here left a residency to pursue a MBA? I think the training/degree would help me pursue the type of career I desire integrating tech and medicine.

1. Does anyone have any suggestions how I might leverage the MD in a business career.
2. Can anyone suggest any resources I might read?

Members don't see this ad.

You can integrate tech and medicine without doing an MBA. There are many working at health tech startups. They use their staff positions at hospitals as leverage to expand markets for emerging tech, and they advise the clinical implementation of the technology. Try staying on top of health tech news and reaching out to mentors you may know.

Can you expand on what a career like that looks like? I have a tech background/interest and want to integrate it into medicine, but I'm really not sure how...
Thanks!

Members don't see this ad :)
A good option would be to pursue a Masters in Translational Medicine at UC Berkeley/UCSF. A lot of its alumni went to medical school and, from the looks of things, some went into industry without a residency.

http://uctranslationalmedicine.org/