Johns Hopkins Post-Bacc Health Science Intensive

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

paswonky

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
First off, a general disclaimer: this is my first time posting on SDN, so I apologize if I violate any unspoken rules of SDN etiquette; I promise that any such breach of conduct is completely unintentional and welcome constructive criticism if I do screw anything up.

Anyway, I couldn't find any posts about this particular JHU masters program, which I am hoping is either because the program is new this year (2013-2014) or because I am not very good at browsing SDN yet, and not due to lack of interest.

Like other JHU MS in biotechnology degree programs, the HSI is offered through the JHU's Advanced Academic Programs (AAP) in the Krieger School of Arts and Sciences. I have read mixed reviews on the difficulty/value of Hopkins' AAP as a whole (on SDN and other sites), but I was intrigued that the HSI program is a) is run by the same program director who now runs the Johns Hopkins Post-Baccalaureate Premedical Program (for "career-changers"), which seems to be viewed overall as a particularly strong program, but b) is specifically aimed at enhancing the medical school application of students who have already taken the prerequisite classes (as is the case for me.)

So, I was wondering if anyone else on here has also applied to, has any opinions about, or has even heard of Hopkins' Post-Bacc HSI? As this will be the program's inaugural year, I'm having a hard time evaluating how effective this program would be for me. While I know that my needs may be very different from that of the next post-bacc applicant, I was hoping that a few of you guys might have also applied (or considered applying) and would be willing to share your thoughts about the program.

Members don't see this ad.

Hey paswonky,