job prospects after NHSC

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

kaige333

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey just wanna say hi and thanks in advance to all the veterans who answer questions and offer advices here. I am new to the NHSC forum and I am curious to what happens after someone is finished with NHSC scholarship or loan repayment commitment. Specifically, how easy or not is it to find a job back into private practice or hospital after a stint in an NHSC site? Any thoughts on this and/or experiences to share?

Members don't see this ad.

Hey just wanna say hi and thanks in advance to all the veterans who answer questions and offer advices here. I am new to the NHSC forum and I am curious to what happens after someone is finished with NHSC scholarship or loan repayment commitment. Specifically, how easy or not is it to find a job back into private practice or hospital after a stint in an NHSC site? Any thoughts on this and/or experiences to share?

I don't see why it should be difficult to find a job in private practice after serving at an NHSC site. Some of my former colleagues have done so quite successfully. Honestly, once you've dealt with the challenges of serving at an NHSC site, you can handle almost anything that walks through the door, so your experience with the NHSC should be a big selling point.

Reactions: 3 users
I don't see why it should be difficult to find a job in private practice after serving at an NHSC site. Some of my former colleagues have done so quite successfully. Honestly, once you've dealt with the challenges of serving at an NHSC site, you can handle almost anything that walks through the door, so your experience with the NHSC should be a big selling point.