Is the DO letter absolutely required?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

BlueDevilSung

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm new to the DO game, does anyone have a comprehensive list of schools that do not require a DO letter? I am not in a place to get a letter within the next three weeks that the application opens. I was going to apply to all the VCOMs and now I can't because I just found out you need a DO letter to apply. :(

The schools I planned on applying to were: all the VCOMs (can't anymore though...), both LECOMs, both PCOMs, Debusk, KYCOM, William Carey COM, Campbell, Nova.

The letters I have: committee letter, letter from chemistry professor, letter from psychology professor, letter from an extracurricular activity, letter from a graduate advisor of mine who was a medical school student at my undergrad.

Members don't see this ad.

Reactions: 1 user
Members don't see this ad :)
I'm new to the DO game, does anyone have a comprehensive list of schools that do not require a DO letter? I am not in a place to get a letter within the next three weeks that the application opens. I was going to apply to all the VCOMs and now I can't because I just found out you need a DO letter to apply. :(

The schools I planned on applying to were: all the VCOMs (can't anymore though...), both LECOMs, both PCOMs, Debusk, KYCOM, William Carey COM, Campbell, Nova.

The letters I have: committee letter, letter from chemistry professor, letter from psychology professor, letter from an extracurricular activity, letter from a graduate advisor of mine who was a medical school student at my undergrad.

Some do require one, a lot explicitly state it's advantageous to have one, some don't say much at all. There's usually pretty easy to find info under each school's FAQ sections online; you should just look there for all the schools you've listed that you plan to apply to.