Is Pharmacy saturated? And should I still pursue Pharmacy as a career?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

futuremedicalsavior

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi,

I am a high school freshman who is concerned about my career in the future. I know it may seem crazy to be so concerned about the future at this age, but I was just curious so I started doing research. A pharmaceutical career has always interested me and I've done hours of research on it in the past. I've come across a pharmacy "saturation" issue a couple times that has persuaded me to reconsider pursuing a pharmacist career. My second option is an anesthesiologist assistant, but I truly love the idea of becoming a pharmacist and I think I have my heart and mind set to it. Should I still pursue pharmacy even though it seems as it is a "dying" profession and many people are pursuing it as well???

Members don't see this ad.

You won't be a pharmacist for at least another 9-10 years. Right now things aren't looking good, but if the diploma mills begin to shut down (wishful thinking) it can get better. If you're willing to move there are still jobs, but big cities are very saturated at the moment.

Reactions: 1 users
You would need to work in a pharmacy to help you decide whether pharmacy really is for you, especially in a busy retail pharmacy. There are other professions, i.e. computer programming, finance, accounting, engineering, etc. that offer better job prospects and better quality of life without you having to take out $200k+ in loans and spend an additional 2-4 years in school.

Sent from my SM-N910V using SDN mobile

Last edited:
Reactions: 1 user
Members don't see this ad :)