Is it too late to give dentistry a try?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Xoxox139

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Do you guys think it's too late for a 33-yo guy to pursue dentistry? Will I have any chance with dental school at this age at all?

Can anyone who has successfully got into dental schools after a long period of time doing another job give me some advice on how to make my way back?
I got my BSc in Biochemistry in 2006, yes over a decade ago. Do I have to do a 4 year undergraduate again to be considered by dental school?

Thank you very much.

Members don't see this ad.

Do you guys think it's too late for a 33-yo guy to pursue dentistry? Will I have any chance with dental school at this age at all?

Can anyone who has successfully got into dental schools after a long period of time doing another job give me some advice on how to make my way back?
I got my BSc in Biochemistry in 2006, yes over a decade ago. Do I have to do a 4 year undergraduate again to be considered by dental school?

Thank you very much.
I believe you just need to do the prerequisites and take your DAT. Of course shadowing as well.

Hey!

I don't think it's ever too late to attempt dentistry. I have a good friend who is now a D2 after 12 years in IT and has a few years on you. So long as you have all the pre-reqs, you should be fine to go back. It might be in your best interest to take some other classes to freshen up on science before the DAT but you definitely have an opportunity here! Best of luck.

Reactions: 1 user
Members don't see this ad :)
It's NEVER too late to do anything! I want to congratulate you on finding something you want to pursue. Like others have said, I would take the pre-requisites and devote good amount of time on studying for the DAT. I wish you best of luck in dentistry!

Reactions: 1 users