Is GPA padding useless in my situation?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Zzan999

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Long story short, I graduated last year from a UC school. Had a 3.2 at JC, then transferred and graduated from uni w/ a 3.86 in Biology. The upward trend only brought up my cGPA to a 3.5 and sGPA to a 3.4

The OCD in me wants to take a bunch of online science classes at my JC till both GPA's reach 3.6. I would have to take 13 classes in total.

Is this a complete waste of time? Should I just focus on other areas of my app?

I'm a 1st generation Mexican. Here are my EC's

Research:
- 17 months of research(no pub, strong Letter of rec). 3 month internship before entering college (1 poster)
Employment:
- 2 years of working at various jobs such as taco bell, CVS, Mcdonald's
- 1 year of tutoring science at my community college
- 1 year of tutoring Kids in math and english
Non-clinical:
- 100 hours foodbank
- 50 hours American cancer society
- 30 hrs at a warehouse that donates medical supplies
Clinical volunteering:
- 150 hours hospital volunteering
- 100 hours at a free clinic that helps underserved mexicans
Shadowing:
- 100 hours across a few specialties. Spent 35 hours in ortho which is where I got my physician LOR from

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
Congrats, your GPA and your ECs are impressive. As for raising your GPA, I wouldn't risk it. 13 classes would take a minimum of 3 semesters, and there's always the chance that you wouldn't get straight A's.

You didn't mention an MCAT score, so it would probably be best to focus on that. As a Hispanic applicant, you should look at this chart https://www.aamc.org/download/321512/data/factstablea24-1.pdf