Is EMT course + pre-med course work too much?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Kcarter321

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello,

New poster here. I have a bachelor's degree in biology already and am enrolled in an EMT course starting August. The course is two nights a week (5 hrs each night) from Aug- Dec. I am wondering if you guys think it would be too much to take this course and either A&P or organic chem II at the same time? I have almost all pre-med requirements, but through out my undergrad career I was planning to go to graduate school for marine biology, so I have a few organismal bio credits where I should have had these courses. I didn't decide to do medical school until after graduation. I'm looking to use EMT work as a way to pay down current student loans before taking on med school debt, study for the MCAT and gain as much experience and knowledge as possible.

Thanks for the opinions!

Members don't see this ad.

I took A&P and paramedic class at the same time, and I didn't have any issues. I also teach EMT and paramedic students, and many of them are taking additional courses at the same time. The biggest thing is time management; you will most likely have lecture, lab, and clinical to keep track of in EMT class.