Is 42 too Old for Starting Neurosurgery Practice?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

mednsrg

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I apologize in advance for this rather long post. But I need some advice from the wise folks on this forum.

I am a non-traditional student in that I will start medical school at age 30 after working for 5 years in the technology industry. While I realize that interests change as students go through their medical rotations, I am really fascinated with the human brain and Neurosurgery and it actually is the big reason why I am deciding to leave my (well paying) career for medicine.

However, un-wavered by the fact that this will likely not make financial sense due to the lost income over pretty long time period, esp. since I already have a well-paying job that I will be kicking away, my biggest deterrent with this idea is my age. I will be 34 years old when I start my residency and while I am really excited about Neurosurgery -- particularly cerebrovascular and tumor stuffs -- and feel really healthy today with almost infinite energy, I am not sure whether I will be too old for this profession when I actually start practicing. I will be around 42 by the time I am done with my fellowship, and I am not sure how many productive years I can expect for myself thereafter.

Any ideas as to the typical age a Neurosurgeon (even a surgeon for that matter) retires at? Is it due to some sort of physical/mental incapacity that neurosurgeons usually retire? Also, what is the oldest age you have observed among Neurosurgery residents? And how frequent are such encounters?

BTW, a related question, any guesses as to how the field will evolve over the next 20 years? Will it be mostly robotics based such that a neurosurgeon will do operations with fewer physical demands (stamina, dexterity, etc), and hence maybe surgeons will continue operating until much later in their lives than today?