Intubating style - what's yours?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

pinipig523

I like my job!
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
So I was trained to intubate by several attendings when I was a resident a few years ago... No one technique was really forced on me so I just kinda worked out which one made most sense.

Towards the end of my training I ended up just doing the "insert the MAC4 down the middle of the tongue and slowly crawl down to the post pharynx until you start seeing structures you can identify, then move to the vallecula and pull up until you see cords" technique. It was simple and it got the job done most of the time.

However, I began to note that the more anterior or difficult patients weren't the easiest to tube. So I began to really develop a different technique from my usual... I began to sweep the tongue... Not overly so but just enough that I would insert the MAC4 blade to the right of the mouth and slowly crawl until I see structures.

Without a large tongue taking up space anterior to the blade, airways just seem significantly (knock on wood) easier. Things are much clearer and the cords are in a much better position. There is less lifting, tilting, manipulating of the head.

My other technique is also external laryngeal manipulation... Just move the cords to the right spot and have someone hold it there.

Another adjuvant is to tilt the head back by using the patient's forehead as a manipulation point (push on the forehead).

What's your technique? And if you haven't mastered the tongue sweep... You should try it. It's so much better than the simple and rudimentary go down the middle of the tongue/mouth method. No wonder anesthesia harp on us to sweep the tongue.

Members don't see this ad.

So I was trained to intubate by several attendings when I was a resident a few years ago... No one technique was really forced on me so I just kinda worked out which one made most sense.