International feedback

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

internationalmaybe

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi all,

I'm a college graduate (May 2016) currently doing a gap year internship as a paid medical researcher. I was accepted into a US medical school for Fall '16 admission but decided to turn it down due to my financial situation and wanting some (much needed) time away from school :=).

I have already submitted my US application for this year's cycle, but I'm really interested in international programs. I think it would be incredible to accomplish my goal in an international setting. Have any elected to attend a foreign medical school in favor of a US school? If so, any thoughts/recommendations?

Pre-med stats: (sry if not SDN standard)
3.82 GPA
3.71 BCPM GPA
510 MCAT
~300 shadowing hours
~200 volunteer hours

How do these numbers stack up with other international applicants? I would hate to decline US admission in hopes of being admitted to a school with a January matriculation date and not have things work out.

Members don't see this ad.

Hi all,

I'm a college graduate (May 2016) currently doing a gap year internship as a paid medical researcher. I was accepted into a US medical school for Fall '16 admission but decided to turn it down due to my financial situation and wanting some (much needed) time away from school :=).

I have already submitted my US application for this year's cycle, but I'm really interested in international programs. I think it would be incredible to accomplish my goal in an international setting. Have any elected to attend a foreign medical school in favor of a US school? If so, any thoughts/recommendations?

3.82 GPA
3.71 BCPM GPA
510 MCAT
~300 shadowing hours
~200 volunteer hours