Intern feeling afraid and incompetent daily

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Bumblebeer

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm a new IM intern, and I'm worried that I'm not good enough to be a doctor. I feel stupid and slow daily despite being 6 weeks into residency now and I don't know if this is normal or if I'm supposed to be feeling comfortable now.

I started on a critical care month and now am on an elective. Next month I start wards and I'm terrified. I've never carried more than 4 patients (even on the critical care unit our max was 4). I just don't know how I'm going to carry up to 10 on wards! I also feel like I'm awful at my outpatient clinic. We just started and it took me forever to see my first patient because of systems things. I didn't know how to use the outpatient EMR, didn't know how to call the social worker, didn't know how to call for medicare transport. I felt so demoralized and like a fraud after that first day. It probably doesn't help that I didn't get a lot of outpatient exposure in med school.

I'm terrified daily that I'm going to hurt someone and I worry that I'm too slow and too stupid at everything and I'm going to get fired. It feels like I was better at medicine after step 2 because of how much I seem to have forgotten. It comes back when I look things up of course, but the amount I have to look up feels awful and the scope of IM feels impossible to master sometimes. I also struggle with time off (ex: this past weekend) because I feel guilty whenever I'm not studying.