Interested in Optometry

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

wolski888

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello! I am a senior high school student in Canada. I am interested in Optometry and was wondering what university or college program I should go into. Any thoughts?

Mike S

Members don't see this ad.

If there is ONE aspect of my education I could change, it would have been attending a college or university with a "pre-optometry" program. Not that it is necessary, but I'm sure there are benefits.

Last edited:
NECO has a program with a few different undergrad colleges that allow you to matriculate into optometry school after only three years, then receive your bachelors degree after your first year in optometry school. This is what I did and it worked out great. I went to the Massachusetts College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences undergrad and just got my final acceptance from NECO this week. It is a really great program because you save one a years worth of tuition and lets you start practicing a year earlier. You have to interview with NECO before starting undergrad and before being accepted after your 3rd year. You also have to meet certain requirements, like a 3.4 GPA (undergrad after you have been accepted, not high school) and 330 on the OAT with no score under 300. Your would take your OATs after your second year in college not before you apply for this program. If your already know that you want to become an optometrist in high school, I highly suggest enrolling in one of these programs.
http://www.neco.edu/admissions/specialprograms.html
http://www.mcphs.edu/academics/programs/pre-med_and_health_studies/od_optometry/index.html

Members don't see this ad :)
Hello! I am a senior high school student in Canada. I am interested in Optometry and was wondering what university or college program I should go into. Any thoughts?

Mike S