Inpatient Hours vs Hospital Employement

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

chsPTgirl

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am applying to PT school with over 850 outpatient observation hours but no hours in any other settings. I've worked in a hospital as a transporter for over a year. Do you think this will be okay or should I try to secure a spot shadowing at the hospital?

Members don't see this ad.

If you can get a PT at the inpatient setting to verify your transporter hours, you should be fine.

Members don't see this ad :)
Wait - do transporter hours count as observation hours? I work as a secretary in rehab, but I didn't file them as actual obs hrs, just under employment - since I don't actually follow them around

Wait - do transporter hours count as observation hours? I work as a secretary in rehab, but I didn't file them as actual obs hrs, just under employment - since I don't actually follow them around
You can always ask your PT if you can use that for volunteering. Ask the PT first. They need to simply verify it

I would try to secure a spot actually shadowing a PT. I doubt most PTs would sign off on that as hours for school as most transport techs have little to no interaction with PTs or physical therapy.

I feel like the only downfall to this is the possibility of them asking questions during your interview about your inpatient experience (aka it may be a bit of a stretch).

I would try to secure a spot actually shadowing a PT. I doubt most PTs would sign off on that as hours for school as most transport techs have little to no interaction with PTs or physical therapy.