This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

atsamman

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi all,

I am new to this forum and I don't know exactly where I should post my questions so ill post them here

I am a final year medical student from Jordan "6 year program" expected to get my "MBBS" degree very soon

I took the MCCEE exam a month ago and honestly I didn't prepare very well, only studied for a month before the exam

I got a mark of 260 which isn't a good mark
I am planning to take the NAC this September

now my questions are:

1) how important is the MCCEE mark compared to the NAC, and how good are my chances to get a match? I am looking to do an internal medicine residency ?

2) if I were to take the (MCCQE1) this November and get a good mark in it, would that help my application and if so what programs will it help me in?

please help
thanks

Members don't see this ad.

You have Canadian permanent residence or citizenship? IF you do not, you won't be able to do residency in Canada.

Also there are very few spots for internal for IMGs, so i would not bother going for that with a 260...unless you absolutely nail NAC.

If you are a citizen or PR, then go for Family Medicine and make sure to get some Canadian Clinical experience and LORs.

Remember that you can NOT repeat these exams once you take and pass them, so make sure to do your best the FIRST time.

Reactions: 1 user
You have Canadian permanent residence or citizenship? IF you do not, you won't be able to do residency in Canada.

Also there are very few spots for internal for IMGs, so i would not bother going for that with a 260...unless you absolutely nail NAC.

If you are a citizen or PR, then go for Family Medicine and make sure to get some Canadian Clinical experience and LORs.

Remember that you can NOT repeat these exams once you take and pass them, so make sure to do your best the FIRST time.

thank you for replying