Identifying problem areas in my app and next steps

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

theprince911

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello and thank you in advance for reading this and helping me out.

I unfortunately was not able to match for the 2017 cycle. I graduated in late November 2015 from a foreign medical school. I am a US citizen. My passion is to be a surgeon and my CV/electives and all of my US clinical experience (3 months) were in surgery. My Step scores were in the 240s and I passed everything on the first attempt. My LORs are very strong in my opinion. I waived my right to read them for the Match, but I obtained them to submit myself in future cycles because there were problems getting them in by September 15. 2 of them were uploaded at the end of September/early October. I feel that this may have been a problem and my application may have been tossed out for being incomplete. My GPA may have been another issue - I did not have the strongest basic sciences grades, though my final clinical grades were much better. I scored well on my rotations as well.

I applied only to General Surgery, but I checked off both prelim and categorical for a lot of the programs that offered both. I feel that this may potentially have been another problem. The feedback I got on my application, personal statement, etc from my peers was also positive, though perhaps I should have had someone with more experience look at them so that I would know about my mistakes.