I saw this motivational post on facebook, feel like sharing.

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

NeverGiveUp-SN

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
First, Congratulations on all of you that matched!!!

Then, I wanted to post this to let everyone that did not match this year to know, you still have lots of hope!!!

I was in this same situation last year, and I am not ashamed to share my journey. I am a graduate of 2016 from an international medical school. I had always been a straight A student, like any other one of us that made it to medical school. But because of family issues, I struggled a bit during my second year in med school, result was that I had a semester where I barely passed all course with C’s, which greatly dropped my GPA, took off a couple months to fly to my family’s country resulting in a half year gap, and I got a step 1 score of about 200ish (at that time, the passing score was 188). I was shocked when I received the score, doubting life and doubting myself if I made a correct choice with a career in medicine. Thanks to my very supportive family and friends, I realized that if I just work hard enough, I still have a shot.

I returned to school with the right mindset this time, making sure to do all my studies and work on time. Making sure I work and study hard for every single rotation getting minimum a B+ occasionally with great comments, trying hard for step 2 CK (got 240-ish), volunteering and making connections, passed Step 2 CS first attempt, got good LORs from attending’s I worked with, and so forth.