I don't know what to do...

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

GoofyPaw

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
First post. I'm writing this because I'm having second thoughts about going to medical school. TL/DR: I really want to do something creative with my career such as writing/film, but I'm scared that if I fail, I'll have to return to my old job as an accountant.

I majored in accounting and worked as a public auditor for three years until I passed the CPA exam. After all of that I raged quit my job and decided to become a doctor. I spent the last two years taking science prerequisites while working part-time as a waiter. My grades have been good, and I'm scheduled to take the MCAT on September 9. For almost this entire year second thoughts have been creeping into my head until they've reached a tipping point these past couple of weeks. I can barely concentrate on my studies, I literally lay in bed until 4:30 AM thinking if this is the right choice, and then I go on these SDN forums trying to see what other people have said about this topic. To be honest, I think I can make it, and I think I might actually enjoy being a doctor once I get there, but there's something inside of me that keeps saying this isn't the path for me.