I am creating a new resource for medical students

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

DO Work Son

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello,

I am a PGY-1 resident who will be completing a residency in Radiology, and hopefully an Interventional Radiology fellowship after that. During my 4th year in medical school, I did a number of interventional radiology away rotations, at both "traditional" training institutions (i.e, post-residency fellowship) and at DIRECT pathway institutions. In the end, this helped me decide that the traditional route was best for me. As enjoyable as this experience was, I was frustrated at the lack of interventional radiology resources available that were appropriate in both cost and content for a medical student. I went into the rotations somewhat "cold," so to speak, regarding preparation and what would be expected of me. There is no "first aid" for the interventional radiology rotation. Luckily, I had wonderful preceptors that were equally great teachers, and I learned a lot. This is a problem, however, that will be much more readily apparent come the switch to IR / DR integrated residencies - more students will be rotating through interventional radiology, and will have a similar experience as I did attempting to obtain resources that are helpful, easy to read, and concise. So, I thought - why don't I spend a little extra time during my (relatively relaxed) Transitional Year and compile my notes into a resource that could potentially help future students?

So, Student Doctor, this is where you come in. I would love to hear from you, medical students, residents, fellows, and attendings.

For students and residents, what questions do you have that would like an an answer to regarding IR? Training pathways? IR suite étiquette? Information regarding common procedures? Something else?