How to spend the summer before starting application??

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

MegaRave214

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
My journey to applying to pharmacy school has been a long one. As a military spouse many things get in the way; I move frequently, which means changing schools, missed employment opportunities because not many people want to hire a tech that will not be there forever, etc.

This past Spring semester I finished all of the pre-reqs needed for the one school I want to apply to and pretty much one of the only ones I can apply to. There is another school I can apply to but I need one more class, physics. I cannot take another class until I know whether or not my husband and I will be pcsing yet again.

I currently do not have a job, but I have been a certified pharm tech for 5 years. Not being able to say whether or not I will be living where I do for an extended amount of time makes it difficult to job hunt, even if there are openings.

I have not worked in almost three years; was a full time student the whole time and moved twice. I have one club I was a part of at my last school, a small amount of volunteering from the club experience, an internship as a tech at a compounding pharmacy, and work experience at a retail/privately-owned/hospital pharmacy.

I am currently planning on attending a five-series professional development seminar during the summer months which warrants a certificate if all five seminars are attended; which I may or may not be able to attend dependent upon my husband's job. I will be spending the summer months preparing to take the PCAT in September, until I get word on whether or not I will be moving then I will hopefully get a job in a pharmacy wherever my husband is stationed at next.

I would appreciate any advice on how to add more to my application. What kinds of applicable opportunities do others shoot for?

Thanks so much