How to pay for med school

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

mizukisan

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Ok I'm looking towards the future a bit too much right now but I like to plan ahead way before anything just out of habit.

I'm an undergrad at a private university that costs a lot and my family is paying full tuition. I feel really bad about this because I chose this school on a whim and I couldn't transfer out this past semester because of a low GPA (due to depression and unfamiliarity with my environment first semester). Anyways, I'm majoring in business (before going to university, I was convinced I was too dumb for anything else) and I don't feel like dropping out of this program because it's a really good program and business isn't all that boring and the only reason why my parents are letting me to go to such an overpriced university.

I really really really want to be a doctor though (since high school) and I'm trying to take the medical school prerequisites while majoring in something else. The thing is, assuming I get into medical school (which I'm working really really really hard to do), I'm worried that I already wasted so much money at this university, it will be hard to pay for medical school. I don't think we will get that much financial aid because we're not low income, but we're not terribly rich. I'm just so worried and I feel so guilty for making my parents spend so much now and I won't be able to pay for medical school because I don't want all their money spent on me. HELP!!! :(

Members don't see this ad.

Stafford and GradPlus loans will cover school costs. Keep in mind these interest rates are around 6-7% and expected to rise in the future. There's always the military route if you are worried about debt.

People should not do HPSP (the "military route") unless they were actually considering military service in the first place.

Reactions: 15 users