How to go about investing

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Theafoni

True Blue
7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Not sure if this is the correct place to ask this but I am interested in investing a few thousand in the next year, I am not sure how to go about this since I am still a student. I have some idea of stock trading and basic knowledge of e forex, but would the return be worth it. Bit coin market is interesting but it is really volatile so I don't want to lose my money--it could go bust in a few years, so I'm not really sure. I considered putting it in a start up company and making millions but that's just dreams. Any suggestions?

Members don't see this ad.

Do you currently carry any debt? If yes, don't invest. Pay it off.

Edit: Asking a bunch of college kids/pre-meds where to invest seems like a pretty bad idea....I think your first course of action should be talking to someone qualified.

Reactions: 2 users
How much do you know about markets? To make money on stocks in the short term you basically need to watch them for every second while the market is open. Forex is a 24 hour market, on the other hand, and can deliver quicker returns. Investing is fun, but risky. I've never had enough money lying around to just throw it at markets but there are plenty of free services available that allow you to make a "mock" portfolio. Go and start one and see how well you do in Forex! I guarantee that you'll learn something even if it doesn't end up making you any money.

Personally, as a student I would throw that money in a savings account and put it towards immediate expenses. A couple of thousand really isn't that much in the investment game; like poker, investing is half skill, half bank-roll management and a bigger bank-roll is always better. Your best investment right now is in yourself.

Reactions: 1 user
Members don't see this ad :)