How to glean a rec letter from a shadowing experience?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

axelz165

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm going to be shadowing a cardiologist for a month (48h total). I'd really love to get a letter of recommendation from him since it would look excellent on my application. Anyone have any tips for gleaning on out of a doctor?

Some background, I'm a pharmacy student and was in his office for a day as part of my rotations. I asked his secretary and ARNP if I could shadow him on my month off and they said they'd love to have me as they never get pharmacy students and would value me as a resource.

Members don't see this ad.

I'm going to be shadowing a cardiologist for a month (48h total). I'd really love to get a letter of recommendation from him since it would look excellent on my application. Anyone have any tips for gleaning on out of a doctor?

Some background, I'm a pharmacy student and was in his office for a day as part of my rotations. I asked his secretary and ARNP if I could shadow him on my month off and they said they'd love to have me as they never get pharmacy students and would value me as a resource.
Just be a normal person and ask him once you're done shadowing?

Reactions: 1 user
Just be a normal person and ask him once you're done shadowing?
Wel I mean obviously. I was more looking for tips to get a great letter. Like tips of what other people did during their shadowing experiences with doctors.

Members don't see this ad :)
Did you build a decent rapport? If you did, then I don't see why asking them directly would hurt.

If you didn't, ask anyways. What's the worst they'll say? No? Ok, big deal. You still ended up with almost 50hrs of shadowing experience out of it.