Medical How This DO Student Stays Positive and Grounded

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
This interview is the latest in an Accepted blog series featuring interviews with medical school applicants and students, offering readers a behind-the-scenes look at top medical schools and the med school application process. And now, introducing Dorothy Faye…

Accepted: We’d like to get to know you! Where are you from? Where and what did you study as an undergrad? When did you graduate?

Dorothy: I was born in the Philippines, but grew up mostly in Bay Area, CA and then moved to the east coast in FL. I went to undergrad at the University of North Florida where I got my Bachelor of Science in Biomedical Sciences and minor in Sociology. I graduated in 2014.

Accepted: Where are you currently attending med school? What year are you?

Dorothy: I am currently a second year osteopathic medical student attending a school a few hours from DC.

Accepted: What motivated you to pursue a career in medicine?

Dorothy: I can’t say that there was just one motivation – to be honest, I truly felt called to go into medicine because I could not see myself doing anything else. The idea that I would be able to influence so many people’s lives and to hopefully help them make the best decisions regarding their health and life is truly a privilege and continues to motivate me to this day.

Accepted: How did the application process go for you? Did you experience any hiccups along the way?