How Solid Are Australian Programs?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

FinalAnalyst

Membership Revoked
Removed
7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi guys, I have a 3.3 cGPA and sGPA. 26 ( 10 P 9 B 7 V), and a 497 (dont remember the break down but psych was really low).

I don't want to go to a Carribbean school which is a diploma mill. I applied to DO programs but I would prefer getting an internationally recognized degree to be honest.

Im a little new to the Australian programs, are they similar to Caribbean programs with larger class sizes and attrition rates or are they smaller ?

I was looking at the Irish programs, unfortunately their MCATS are really really high, and for now I decided Im just gonna grind it out and do well on the next MCAT because my above scores resulted from not batting an eye at the MCAT or prepping for it ever.

Members don't see this ad.

Hey, having navigated through the various options, I would suggest you try your best to get into a DO school first. If after re-taking your courses and MCAT you still don't feel comfortable then explore the international options. I am not sure what your nationality is, but the "recognition" aspect doesn't have much bearing if you plan on practicing in North America.

I ranked Australia and Ireland above the Caribbean due to better living conditions in the former. I placed Australia above Ireland, because I would rather be in Australia for 4 years than Ireland. Australia also provides you with a "chance" to remain there after finishing school, which isn't the case with Ireland. It should be noted that class sizes are fairly large in the bigger schools (UQ, Sydney, Mel), but most people seem to suggest that class isn't really important because you mostly self-study and interact with smaller groups of student (PBL). I am not too sure about attrition rate, but I haven't heard much.