How should I go about contacting local docs/residents to get involved in research? (incoming M1)

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

CCmetal94

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Incoming M1 at KCU interested in emergency medicine with no prior research experience. I've have a list and contact info of EM DO's on faculty at local MDs school. I planned on shooting them emails, but wasn't exactly sure how I should word it and what I should (or shouldn't) say.

I planned on including my resume (3 years of clinical work in the ER as a scribe and phlebotomist). What should I say in my initial Email? Should I say upfront I have no research experience, but am looking to become a more competitive EM applicant in the future?

Members don't see this ad.

Reactions: 2 users
Also incoming M1, but with research experience. I'd say:
-wait until the end of your first semester (or several months) before reaching out since research can vary widely in time requirements. You don't want your first experience to end up going poorly due to unfamiliarity with the subject, still establishing medical school time management methods, and the demands that will be drawing you into your primary courses.
-frame it (at least in the beginning) as experience for exposure rather than competitiveness.

Members don't see this ad :)
I'll give you guys the advice that has helped me land a research gig at one of the nearby MD schools. Your situations I don't think will be as bad as mine.

1) Figure out what types of research you want to do (if uncertain and are considering a hyper competitive field look for a broad topic like cancer)
2) Start looking early for a mentor (a few months into first semester)
3) Look at google scholar and pubmed for publications --> it will give you a talking point in your emails and you will know how productive in research your mentor is