How serious are the boards?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Faux

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Are we talking DAT level of specifics?

I'm going through gross section of the decks and its making me relive my trauma of gross anatomy all over again.

Members don't see this ad.

Reactions: 2 users
idunno. You kinda-- you know... need it to be a dentist in the US.... or at least a legal one. :cool:

Reactions: 1 users
Members don't see this ad :)
yeah its DAT level specific......however given that it is pass/fail and has a high first attempt pass rate its not nearly as stressful as the DAT was, for me at least. i studied for a week for boards part one and passed.

I read a few times you just need score higher than the lowest 10%. Just trying to gauge how much time I should really spend on this exam.
I was told by a 3rd year that it was fairly easy if you're in the top 50% of your class. There's just too much material to cover in such a short period of time. She said to do a quick review then take it as early of possible.

I'm going through gross section of the decks and its making me relive my trauma of gross anatomy all over again.

Back when I took it... not too detailed. All you need is a week of cramming to do well. I remember taking a week off to cram and got a 90 (before P/F) on part I; same thing on Part II. If you're taking the WREB written portion (if it hasn't changed), I don't even think you have to study for more than a day.

Go through Decks once and you'll be fine.

Also taking the boards this summer. Is it really that easy to pass that you can study for only a week? Going through First Aid / Decks makes it seem significantly more intimidating than that.

Also taking the boards this summer. Is it really that easy to pass that you can study for only a week? Going through First Aid / Decks makes it seem significantly more intimidating than that.