BOTH How much could STEP 2 help me?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

doing_all_the_things

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm a 3rd year DO student. My USMLE STEP 1 was 219, and my COMLEX was 606. The reasons why I scored low on the USMLE are unimportant (related to bad timing) but it should be noted that I was expecting a >230 based on practice exams from UWorld and NBME so I think I should have done better. My question is this: How much would doing well on STEP 2 help me land the residencies that I want. I don't care about prestige but I do care about location and lifestyle for residency. Going to an ACGME program would be better because AOA programs will be few and far between by the time I apply in 2019 so I'm told. The specialties I am interested in, in no particular order are EM, General Surgery, Neurology, IM - Infectious Disease, and Psychiatry. What should be my strategy moving forward as far as what to do and when to do it? Any help would be appreciated.

Members don't see this ad.

That's not very helpful but it's more of a bump because I'm also interested in this answer. I ended up with an average-ish step 1 (didn't get level 1 back yet) and am not sure if I should be taking step 2. They're so expensive!

Sent from my iPhone using SDN mobile