PhD/PsyD How many publications to be competitive for TT faculty or K award?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

weeblewobble

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am in my second year of postdoc, and working towards getting either a TT faculty job at a research focused institution, or getting a K at my current institution, a fairly prestigious AMC. I only have 5 publications, and my primary mentor thinks this is way too low to be competitive this job cycle. He think I need 12-30 (!!!!) to be competitive for either a job or a K. But other faculty members differ hugely... I've heard anything from "it doesn't matter, since you're a clinical researcher," to 4-5 publications, to 8-10, to 12-30. Anyone have any ideas about this? What do hiring committees and award committees expect? Is it possible that expectation are lower for applied/clinical/services research vs. experimental/neuroscience research? Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

How many are you first author on? What's the quality of the journals you are published in? Did a substantial amount of those come in the last couple years? What do you have in the pipeline?

In general, if you're looking for positions at research-focused institutions, I would work on publishing. FWIW, I'm also in clinical and am in my first year of a T-T position. I didn't have an outrageous number of pubs (maybe 7-8?) when I applied last cycle but at least half of them were first author and published in well respected journals in my field. I also took the position straight out of internship; I have heard that places look for more productivity as you move along, as in theory, a few years into post doc should allow you more time to publish than someone straight out of grad school.

Good luck!

Reactions: 1 user