How I passed NBDE Part 1 2015

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Capote

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey guys :) Recently passed my NBDE I and thought I'd share my experience. I realize a lot has been said about the material/resources but when I first started preparing, looking through SDN helped me a lot so I figured this might help someone as well. Oh and I'm a foreign trained dentist 3 years out of dental school :)

I spent three months preparing for this exam, dedicating 5 hours a day (might be overkill considering its pass/fail but I really wanted to pass comfortably) although there were days I studied for 5 hours and days where I studied for 2. These are the materials I used and my thoughts on them:

Dental decks: I think I read through one flash card from the Anatomy section and immediately disliked it. I felt overwhelmed with information and the flash card method really didn't suit my style of studying.

Board busters (now known as Dentin): I LOVED this book. This became my main source of study. A lot of people say it's the same as dental decks except organized into a book, can't say that for sure as I never went through decks (apart from that one anatomy flash card and a few ones from dental anatomy). This book has literally everything you need to know to pass. You can study exclusively from this and guarantee a pass. I went through this book 3 times (takes a month to go through it all, depending on your study schedule). Definitely highly recommend this (especially if you're more comfortable studying from books)