How does a resident fail a rotation

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

doctorpurple

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I know I'm being paranoid but this wasn't discussed at all during orientation and I was just wondering reading from all the threads here. I'm a new intern who started in wards. I felt pretty awful and crappy some days for not knowing the answer to pimp question on rounds. I'm now in ED rotation and feeling better and maybe learning residency better. I'm just wondering how does one fail a rotation specifically in the military? I know each attending do some sort of evaluation but I haven't seen my evals yet for my first rotation and I'm worried. What if they put negative remarks on it? Does that mean I fail the rotation?

Members don't see this ad.

I know I'm being paranoid but this wasn't discussed at all during orientation and I was just wondering reading from all the threads here. I'm a new intern who started in wards. I felt pretty awful and crappy some days for not knowing the answer to pimp question on rounds. I'm now in ED rotation and feeling better and maybe learning residency better. I'm just wondering how does one fail a rotation specifically in the military? I know each attending do some sort of evaluation but I haven't seen my evals yet for my first rotation and I'm worried. What if they put negative remarks on it? Does that mean I fail the rotation?
People who fail rotations generally know before they leave. An intern being stumped by an attending' strong pimp voice in freakin' JULY is not unusual or likely even remembered more than 10 minutes later, unless he repeatedly says something totally off the wall.

I wouldn't sweat it. An intern who gets his work done and doesn't hurt anyone is a July success. Odds are you did fine, unless you got specific negative feedback.

Reactions: 1 users