How difficult is it to switch from FM to EM?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Clintamycin

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm a recent grad who unfortunately went unmatched this season applying to EM. I am interviewing soon for a new FM program, but EM is my fire and blood. From what I can tell, being in a categorical program removes me from the Match, and since few to no programs have openings following the Match, how can I transition into an EM residency?

Members don't see this ad.

I'm a recent grad who unfortunately went unmatched this season applying to EM. I am interviewing soon for a new FM program, but EM is my fire and blood. From what I can tell, being in a categorical program removes me from the Match, and since few to no programs have openings following the Match, how can I transition into an EM residency?
I'm not sure what you're asking, it's all pretty obvious, I think. Tell your program director that you're interested in pursuing EM, if you have an EM residency at your location, talk to the director and see what your chances are of maybe matching there next cycle, which depends on why you didn't match EM in the first place (poor scores vs. poor clinical feedback). Do an elective in EM there, if you can, do an away elective in EM, although that's harder to arrange. If you haven't graduated med school yet, try to set up some away rotation now before graduation, so that you're able to do a sub I as a fourth year and get a SLOE. Apply again next cycle to every program you can afford and see what happens.

Also, evaluate your priorities and see if all this work is worth it, for a good chance you might not match again next year. As much as I like EM, I would be happy doing family medicine if that's how things worked out. If that's not you, I wish you luck.